Let the Banjo Playing begin!

Playing the banjo has always been on my bucket list, so this summer I decided to take banjo lessons. Unfortunately, because summers are busy I was only able to get 4 lessons. When I heard that one of the projects we were able to choose from was a learning project, I knew this would be the perfect opportunity to learn by teaching myself.  So I gathered different kinds of sources to help me teach myself.  I searched the internet and found happy banjo dude on YouTube, He posts videos of himself playing different popular songs played on the banjo. He even offers paid lessons but what I really found helpful was his website where he posted free tablature of the songs he shows you how to play, for free.  Next I found a resource on Youtube that explained to me how to read tablature correctly, and I also bought a book on how to play the banjo at the music store which came highly recommend by all of the staff.  My goal is to be able to play ” Wagon Wheel” by Old Crow Medicine Show  and “Ho Hey” by The Lumineers. I would like to learn more but before I run, I need to learn how to walk. After my first session I decided that the best method of documenting my progress is not to document me playing the banjo every time I pick the instrument up, but to practice for the full week and after the week is over I will document me trying to play the songs.  Any tips by anyone is appreciated! Wish me luck! Let the banjo playing begin!

Leave a Reply

